BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles Business and Marketing Podcasts

How to gain clients?

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
MILTON HOCKMANHow to gain clients?
by on Apr 18, 2008 at 10:38:46 pm

I've been a staff editor/motion graphic designner for 3 years now. Every client that comes through my employer raves about my work and how well I treat them. The only problem is it is a very narrow field of clients that does not include any known companies.

So, I have been thinking about starting my own Motion Graphic Design/Editing studio (since I feel I am way underpaid since I am creating projects from concept to completion. Actin as producer and editor and feel I could be making a whole lot more money having all of the profit from jobs. Also from client reviews I feel I can deal with clients in a way that makes them want to come back for more work since clients are always happy with my work and treatment of them.)

I just don't know how to go about gaining a client list of my own. I can't go after the current clients because my employer would know and the company's are pretty loyal to my employer (it's very tight nit.)

I'd like get tips from everyone on how to start gaining clients to start my own studio out? I'd like to start small and work my way up to quitting my current job. I don't want to jump ship now and cross my fingers but would like to eventually gain enough clients to do so.

So what has everyone done to gain clients and earn business?

Thanks for your help!

Motion Graphics Artist and Non-Linear Editor
Software expertise include: After Effects, Avid Xpress Pro, Final Cut Pro, Dvd Studio Pro, Photoshop, and more.

Return to posts index

Rich RubaschRe: How to gain clients?
by on Apr 19, 2008 at 2:43:42 am

Hopefully you have a good relationship with your current boss/coworkers. Here's what I did, successfully.