BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

Is this business model viable?

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Nina Staum
Is this business model viable?
on Apr 18, 2008 at 7:49:53 pm

Does anyone work at home exclusively as an offline editor? I have 8 yrs experience in editing, several TV docs and short dramas on my resume, and continue to get sporadic freelance calls despite the fact I have not been a freelance editor for over five years and have never advertised. My ideal would be to edit long-form work at home, probably with the odd corporate on the side. I own a small out of date Avid DV system that is entirely reasonable for that dream, but not broadcast quality. I would plan to send projects to either a production company for online or do the online edit myself at an independent filmmakers' co-op, depending on the project.

Return to posts index

walter biscardi
Re: Is this business model viable?
on Apr 19, 2008 at 12:19:16 pm

Not sure how viable this is anymore as even home-based systems can be top of the line HD broadcast these days. I honestly don't know anyone who is even doing an offline / online workflow anymore with the low cost of large hard drive arrays these days. It's easier and faster to simply capture the footage at full online resolution and completely finish a show from start to finish.

Does anybody work at home these days? Absolutely, a lot of editors here in Atlanta work from their homes. It's a very viable business model with the editing systems available these days. But all the editors I know have full broadcast capable systems and the only thing they need to rent are the VTRs for ingest.

Walter Biscardi, Jr.
Biscardi Creative Media
HD and SD Production for Broadcast and Independent Productions.

STOP STARING AND START GRADING WITH APPLE COLOR Apple Color Training DVD available now!
Read my Blog!