BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

shooting stock footage

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Rob Grauertshooting stock footage
by on Apr 14, 2008 at 9:52:32 pm

Hey guys,

I was wondering about stock footage. Can you make good money shooting stock footage? What should a videographer shoot? Is there an ideal format to shoot, forexample, 1080p, since it's a large resolution and progressive scanning. How would he or she go about selling it?

I really want to become a wildlife videographer. Could I shoot stock footage of this to gain some experience, but also try to sell it? Who would I sell it too? And to who?

This area interests me because I'm a student who wants to improve shooting skills and in the future become a wildlife videographer. It's my greatest interest in the whole industry.

Thank you for any help.

Rob G.

Return to posts index

David Roth WeissRe: shooting stock footage
by on Apr 16, 2008 at 5:05:36 am

Rob,

Wildlife cinematography is a noble profession for sure, but its also an exceedingly difficult profession. I tried to make a go of it back in my twenties and I learned a few lessons along the way that unfortunately forced me to change course.

Keep in mind, the very best wildlife cinematographers spend several years in the bush waiting for those few special moments that eventually make it to the screen. And, its only a lucky few who actually get paid for the time they put in, the rest are working on spec and trying desperately to sell their films in a world that is demanding the highest quality, but at bargain basement prices. Documentary filmmaking is, in general, a tough, tough way to make a living, but wildlife filmmaking is by far the toughest.