BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

Traveling to Canada

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Karl Soehnlein
Traveling to Canada
on Apr 3, 2008 at 3:36:46 am

I'm not sure if this is the appropriate thread, but I thought I'd start here.

In a few weeks, I will be making my first trip outside the U.S. with my video equipment. I am a freelancer and was hired by a U.S. company to videotape some interviews at a tradeshow in Montreal.

My client advised me to go through their broker for customs purposes to simplify things. Since renting equipment in Montreal is not an option, I'm leaning toward shipping my equipment via FedEx versus bringing the equipment onboard the aircraft. I'm assuming it's safer, guaranteed to get there on time, easy to insure, and trackable.

I'm bringing a standard EFP kit (camera, tripod, lights) -- not a ton of equipment, but enough for a standard interview setup.

Does anyone have additional advice (or tips) based on my current situation?

Regarding the customs paperwork for my equipment, how specific should I be? From what I understand, the more information, the better (model number, serial numbers, basic description, etc).

When shipping the equipment, should I expect it to be opened and inspected?

Thanks for your help, I appreciate it!

Return to posts index

Rick Dolishny
Re: Traveling to Canada
on Apr 5, 2008 at 1:53:50 am

Why is renting in Montreal not an option?

Why is traveling with a load of delicate expensive gear such a great idea?

Just fly in, rent a car and your gear, and fly out with your toothbrush. Hell, buy the toothbrush in Canada as well.

It's just too much of a hassle and too many things can go wrong.

But the FedEx route is what I've had other guys use for a few things. But it's really expensive and kinda hard to justify to a client when a local rental facility could be cheaper.