BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

"credentialed news media"

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Bob Cole"credentialed news media"
by on Mar 30, 2008 at 1:05:41 am

A thread in this forum about travel sent me looking at an airline website, where I discovered that for "a representative of a network or local television broadcasting company or a commercial filmmaking company," the airline imposes no weight/size limits on checked luggage.

Even better, "credentialed news media" receive special treatment for their outsized carry-on camera cases and preboarding.

How can I get "credentialed?"

As a freelancer, I shoot video for a variety of clients (cable and broadcast tv, tv commercials, Internet video, corporate communications, and sometimes my own projects).

Sometimes I get "credentials" at the site of a shoot, but I don't have a "press pass" in my wallet. It seems a little silly to be looking for a piece of paper; I feel a bit like the Scarecrow from Oz, wanting a diploma to certify that he has a brain. But that piece of paper could be very valuable. Do any of my fellow freelancers have the solution?

Thanks!

Bob C

MacPro 2 x 3GHz dualcore; 10 GB 667MHz
Kona LHe
Sony HDV Z1
Sony HDV M25U
HD-Connect MI
Betacam UVW1800
DVCPro AJ-D650

Return to posts index

Steve WargoRe: "credentialed news media"
by on Mar 30, 2008 at 4:00:42 am

I think that Adobe illustrator or Photoshop should be where you should start. When I worked for ESPN, I never actually worked for ESPN but the production company that produced the Speedworld Off-Road series. We made our own Press Pass Badges. Our second client was TNN, the Nashville network.