BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

"Overtime" rates for rush jobs?

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Shawn Marshall"Overtime" rates for rush jobs?
by on Mar 18, 2008 at 8:53:31 pm

Hi:

I wanted to get a sense of whether, as post-production professionals, you think it's appropriate to charge time-and-a-half of your hourly rate (or more) when a client essentially forces you to work outside of normal business hours to meet an insane deadline.

My wife and I have been operating a motion graphics studio from our home for around seven years. We're not getting rich, but we're doing much better than we were working for "the man" at local network affiliates. We have a fairly stable group of clients, creating motion graphics and 3D animations, mainly for corporate and direct response productions. Our niche often involves taking overflow work from agencies, work that their in-house desginers are too busy to complete. We have a very good relationship with our clients, and we think we offer a good value.

When we first started on our own we'd take most any job and work any time to meet a deadline, charging either a flat rate or, preferably, an hourly rate. We didn't charge a premium for having to work nights or weekends when the deadline demanded it. (This, as opposed to working nights or weekends because we chose to, so we could do other things on weekdays.)

For the past few years, as our business has been as stable as it will probably get as freelancers, we've been telling clients who give us a project on a Friday afternoon and want to see a rough sample on Monday that we'd be charging them time-and-a-half of our hourly rate to meet their deadline, or we'll build that rate into estimating a flat rate. Our biggest client, an agency with whom we've worked for eight years, hasn't objected.