BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles Business and Marketing Podcasts

Book for Vacation Reading (Cross-posted)

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Aujom ProductionsBook for Vacation Reading (Cross-posted)
by on Feb 27, 2008 at 11:05:57 pm

It's hard to believe, but I'm taking a week long vacation. I'd like to take a book to read. Usually I only read manuals and tutorials, but those are pretty worthless without a computer in front of me.

If you could take one industry-related book on a vacation, what would it be? Something related to: business in general, editing concepts, motion graphics concepts, videography or similar preferred. I'm an independent producer focused on After Effects and FCP. And the million other things we all do ourselves these days (shooting, encoding, client service, accounting, DVD authoring, etc.)

Thanks for your input! Cheers, Brian

Return to posts index

Mike CohenRe: Book for Vacation Reading (Cross-posted)
by on Feb 28, 2008 at 12:21:43 am

Droidmaker - this is a comprehensive history of digital editing. As with computer animation, George Lucas is partly responsible.

For something completely different, read Blink by Malcolm Gladwell or Freakonomics. Those books get you thinking.

Enjoy your vacation.

Return to posts index

Herb SevushRe: Book for Vacation Reading (Cross-posted)
by on Feb 28, 2008 at 3:22:41 pm

I'd like to commend this recommendation - The Droidmaker is a fabulous book that details the genesis of our current media world, at lest in a technical sense.

I might also suggest the Tao Te Ching, a must read for aspiring editors (and everyone else.)

Then you might want to try God Knows by Joseph Heller, if you want to laugh a little. You did say it was a vacation.

Herb Sevush
Zebra Productions

Return to posts index

Christian GlaweRe: Book for Vacation Reading (Cross-posted)
by on Feb 28, 2008 at 4:12:28 am