BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles Business and Marketing Podcasts

Web Design and/or posting video

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Catherine CinquiWeb Design and/or posting video
by on Feb 18, 2008 at 8:26:09 pm

I was looking to see if anyone had any recommendations for building a web site for a video production company. I have been working for a entertainment company for eight years as an editor/producer and am now in the process of setting up a new company.
I have little experience with web design and posting video, and have been caught a few times in the last month with no appropriate reels on line that have cost me the opportunity for some side work. So I would like to get a web site up-So I'm wondering if it's better to hire someone to build the site or to take the time and learn dreamweaver. It's something that I would like to keep updated, display work, post demo reels etc..
So I'm wondering if anyone had any opinions on the topic or any experiences with a web designer or web design program they would recommend.

Thanks very much-

Return to posts index

Mike CohenRe: Web Design and/or posting video
by on Feb 19, 2008 at 2:35:47 am

If you search for websites of video production companies, or just check out the sites of fellow COW members, you will see they run the gamut from a simple 1 page layout with vital contact info, to full-on Flash websites with lots of video and sound effects.
In my opinion, your site should be simple and to the point, depending upon, of course, what you are selling.
You could hire a local web designer and for a few thousand dollars get a pretty nice website.
You can search for web design templates, find one you like and with very little web programming knowledge have a functional site.