BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles Business and Marketing Podcasts

New Business

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
jenna gordonNew Business
by on Feb 15, 2008 at 5:34:41 pm

Hi, I'm new to Creative Cow; a production friend recommended it to me. I recently got out of the reporter gig and am trying to get into video production; mainly for medical videos. I'm planning to buy a HVX-200 panasonic complete with P2 cards, a three light system, wireless lav, etc. and will edit on Final Cut Pro on Mac Pro.

I know how to shoot, how to edit, how to make things look "presentable" but as a novice getting into this business I was hoping someone out there could give me advice on what else I'll need to get started. Or if you were once in my position... what I can do as a "small business" aka one-man band. I already have my first client to make a DVD, which I'll use to market for additional clients. But any advice would be appreciated. Also, if I decide to use music.. where do I go to pay for copy-write fees?

Jenna G.

Return to posts index

Rick DolishnyRe: New Business
by on Feb 15, 2008 at 6:10:38 pm

Don't BUY anything except perhaps your edit suite.

But in some markets you can rent that too.

Get a few gigs under your belt then when the time is right buy what you need.

Search music it's been discussed. :)

Rick Dolishny
Discrete Editors COW Leader

Return to posts index

Ron LindeboomRe: New Business
by on Feb 15, 2008 at 6:11:58 pm

[jenna gordon] "...if I decide to use music.. where do I go to pay for copyright fees?"

Welcome to Creative COW, Jenna. I hope that you find the site useful.

I will leave others to address other aspects of your questions, but I'd like to focus on your music issue.