BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

Film school choice

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Alexander Punch
Film school choice
on Feb 7, 2008 at 5:11:54 am

Dear Creative Cow,

Please excuse my lack of knowledge and bear with me as i am new to the Creative Cow community. I'm not sure this is even the right forum to post this particular thread on but here goes nothing.
I am a high school senior who is now looking into a career in the film industry, and also looking into how to best prepare myself for such a career. Upon finding these forums however i realized how simply massive the film community really is, and i became concerned about my pending decision with college. So i have several questions.

1. Is it realistic for someone such as myself to attend a university in my home State of Michigan (which financially is my only option pretty much) and concentrate on film, or will employers look down upon that since i am not attending a major California/New York film institute and in all likelihood not even consider me.

2. If i am not wasting my time, would it be a bad decision to attend a smaller school here or is attending a larger university detrimental to success in this industry? I am looking into an Electronic Media and Film Studies degree at Eastern Michigan University. I think i would benefit from the more one on one attention i would receive there and the program seems very good. However, would attending there where i believe i would get a better education instead of being somewhere like the University of Michigan hurt me in the eyes of employers?

3.Is this industry only truly accessible from the west and east coast or are there pretty much equal job opportunities nation wide in this field?