BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

Starting a rental company. Securing deposits with Credit Cards or Pay Pal?

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Clint Nitkiewicz Hernandez
Starting a rental company. Securing deposits with Credit Cards or Pay Pal?
on Feb 7, 2008 at 4:52:30 am

Hows it going.

I am in the process of starting a rental company, though there is one thing I am lacking if anyone can help me figure it out.

I will write down the credit card number of the person renting the equipment, and expiration date and name on the credit card, in case I need to charge the amount of the item being rented out if broken.

My questions are,

1. How will I actually charge the card the amount of the item if item is broken or lost?
2. How can I verify the person has sufficient credit on the card prior to renting it out?

As a business owner, I need to be able to do this.

I have never charged a person's credit card for anything before, so please any info would be appreciated.

Thanks!

http://www.newelementproductions.com
Film-Maker/ Blu-ray Author/ Compositor

Return to posts index

Steve Wargo
Re: Starting a rental company. Securing deposits with Credit Cards or Pay Pal?
on Feb 7, 2008 at 5:43:03 am

Do you have a merchant account? it doesn't appear so. You cannot charge a person's card unless you are an authorized merchant, signed up with a bank. Talk to someone at your bank. Also, ask about taking cards over the phone and over the internet. It's all different processes and companies.

When you get your company going, your rental contract will have to have a clause that contains an agreement that the renter will be liable for damage or loss. A rental company here in Phoenix allowed us to use their contract word for word and it has helped us a lot.

Lastly, there is a software program written specifically for video rental companies. Look into it.