BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles Business and Marketing Podcasts

“Swinging” Clients

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Bruce Bennett“Swinging” Clients
by on Feb 1, 2008 at 7:55:59 pm

Today, I learned that one of my clients went looking elsewhere for video editing services. Now, mind you, I am a Producer and sub out my editing. Since owning my own business, I have done only one video for them, and that can easily be classified as “low-budget” compared to what I normally do. Through the grapevine, I learned that this particular video was a “cheaper budget” project, so I’m thinking the client feels that I cannot produce it for the low-budgeted amount.

The video is going to be shown at an annual show/conference that the client will probably hire me to do the audio/voice-over introductions for (and possibly hire me to call/Direct the actual show). I’ve done the audio introduction recordings for the past three years.

When I worked for a post house for 8 years, we had a few clients come to us for their “lower budget” projects while keeping their “higher budget” projects with our competitors. So this type of thing is not new to me.

So, my fellow COWs (is that what we’re called?) what are your thoughts, experiences, sound-offs, etc. when it comes to such “swinging” clients that play with others as well?

Bruce Bennett,
Bennett Marketing & Media Production, LLC

Return to posts index

Todd at Fantastic PlasticRe: “Swinging” Clients
by on Feb 1, 2008 at 8:28:58 pm

Well, when those clients "swing," we tend to just let 'em. Not too much to be done about it.

We have a couple of agency clients where we pretty much handle all of their higher-end stuff, but for easy/fast/cheap things they go elsewhere. And that's pretty much fine with us, we don't really want their low-end gigs.