BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

Charge Rates etc

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Mark Ledger
Charge Rates etc
on Feb 1, 2008 at 11:22:25 am

Hi Guys,

I've been doing motion work in AE and others as a hobby for about the last 5 years. Mainly producing 1-3 minute long pieces for showing behind a catwalk show for a friend's company. These normally take me around 12 - 15 hours work time to produce. I'm supplied normally the images and then I incorporate these into a 3d production. the guidence given to me is normally "it is going to a opera type show" or "a 40's style" and I have to come up with the idea. So far every one done has been well received.

As payment i normally get about $400 for each piece.

My friend is getting more demanding and on some occasions only gives me 48hrs before an event to produce something. My work is shown worldwide. I don't do contracts etc as this is a good friend, but maybe I should?

If I want to step this hobby up a level, where should I be pitching myself regarding rates. Do most charge an hourly rate or a rate for each job? Am I massively undercharging or overcharging or am I about right? Any thoughts would be gratefully received.

Return to posts index

Ron Lindeboom
Re: Charge Rates etc
on Feb 1, 2008 at 11:52:32 am

I would recommend using the search engine and look for the word "rates" and start there. There is tons on this subject already in previous threads. Then, after having done that, ask more specific questions. So far, your questions are pretty general and there is a lot of feedback already in this forum that you can draw upon.

Best regards,

Ron Lindeboom
http://www.linkedin.com/in/ronlindeboom
Publisher, Creative COW Magazine
Join the COW's LinkedIn Group