BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles Business and Marketing Podcasts

Motion Graphics Rate Increase

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
tim bowenMotion Graphics Rate Increase
by on Jan 31, 2008 at 5:47:42 pm

Hi Guys,

I am in the Los Angeles market, and have a freelance client who has been pretty consistent with work the last 6 months. By consistent I mean 2-3 weeks of work a month. I enjoy working there, and it's close by to home. I think my rate is fair relative to my experience, but have been told by some fellow motion graphics artists that I could be charging more for my work. Some have even suggested $15.00 per hour more. I have been charging my current rate for about 10 months. Any advice on raising my rate and when on a favored client?

I've been doing MoGraph for 3 years and finished certified training in 2006.

Return to posts index

David Roth WeissRe: Motion Graphics Rate Increase
by on Jan 31, 2008 at 6:00:59 pm

The cost of living goes up each year, so to do people's hourly rates. Just inform the client nicely of your 2008 rate, then ask nicely if that presents a problem for them.

Few here in L.A. could or would argue that the cost of living has gone down, but the client might not have the extra money in their budget, in which case see what you can negotiate.

David Roth Weiss
David Weiss Productions, Inc.
Los Angeles

A forum host of Creative COW's Business & Marketing, and Indie Film & Documentary forums.

Return to posts index

Brendan CootsRe: Motion Graphics Rate Increase
by on Feb 1, 2008 at 2:16:06 am