BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

Quote Today

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Lisa KozaQuote Today
by on Jan 24, 2008 at 11:57:57 pm

Hi there my name is Lisa and I read these boards often - it's a great place. Anyway, this is my first post, I'm new to the field, a recent college grad, but a 40 year old woman. :-) I'm a freelance video editor, shooter, voice actress, and do a little web-design.

I went on a job quote today for a little job. It was a small company who wanted to take a 7 min Power Point presentation and turn it into a movie for the web. However, they also wanted to add a voice over, which I would do, and they needed to lay down a music track (music they paid for). I had a very difficult time in trying to figure out how much I'd charge, and so I called one of my old professors who also owns his own production company. He suggested nothing lower than 1K, and said he can sometimes charge 15K for projects like that! I at first was thinking that I'd be happy with just around $500.

So, ok, I go in, I hit it off with the people, all is great, and then they want an idea of price, I say 1K, and I can deliver by monday. They say, wow, we can't go that high. Now, I'm really wanting this gig, so I go down to $700, and they still are like, hmmmmm. I left it at 700, but part of me wishes I went ahead with my first feel of $500, but then the other side says, no way, you deserve more! They said they'll get in touch with me.

Any help? What does something like that really go for? I really wasn't going to have much edting to deal with (I work in Final Cut Pro), just fine tune some of the slides, for the text was wacky, and then also record the 7 min script in my own home studio.

Return to posts index

Steve KownackiRe: Quote Today
by on Jan 25, 2008 at 12:33:11 am