BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

Billing for Render Time

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Tim Kennedy
Billing for Render Time
on Jan 17, 2008 at 8:44:45 pm

Wanted to get some advise on how companies regard billing for Render Time.
I'm an After Effects Artist and I set a hourly or day rate to create, design, animate.
Should I consider the render time as billable time. My machine is tied up, its working for me.
Or is there a rule of thumb about how to factor in my hardware software into my hourly or day rates.

Return to posts index

Rick Dolishny
Re: Billing for Render Time
on Jan 17, 2008 at 9:49:34 pm

Never bill for render time.

If you're a Total Professional

Return to posts index

Christopher Wright
on Jan 18, 2008 at 7:25:44 am

I have always charged for rendering time (and always will), but it is always a part of my bid. I pretty much know how long any project in AE will take to render. You are paying rent on your space, utilities, laying out money for equipment and software etc, etc. It's called a business and you charge for the time you spend dealing with client issues.

Dual 2.5 G5, IO, Kona LH, Medea Raid, UL4D, NVidia 6800, 4Gig RAM
Dual 1.0 G4 Medea RAID, 1.5 gigs RAM, Lacie Raid, UL3D, Cinewave
Windows XP dual 1.0, PPro 1.5, Vegas 6.0, Lightwave 8.3, Sound Forge 8, Acid Pro 5, Continuum, Boris Red, Combustion 4.0, Sapphire Effects

Return to posts index

Mick Haensler
on Jan 18, 2008 at 1:43:11 pm

Charging for rendering is like a traditional artist charging for the paint to dry

Mick Haensler
Higher Ground Media

Return to posts index

Craig Seeman
on Jan 18, 2008 at 4:33:43 pm

[Mick Haensler] "Charging for rendering is like a traditional artist charging for the paint to dry "