BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

I'm a film student trying to learn about the industry

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Daniel RodriguezI'm a film student trying to learn about the industry
by on Jan 17, 2008 at 9:44:50 am

Hi

I'm currently in my graduating semester in filming at the Art Institute and for a Portfolio assignment, we were asked to learn about the entry level jobs we could possibly take once we graduate. I'm working hard to try to become an Editor so I was thinking on researching the position of Assistant editor.

I've been making some phone calls trying to get informational interviews over the phone from either an assistant editor or a production manager (or anyone else who does the hiring). My problem is that I keep getting turned down and in some cases just get hung up on. I was able to get one interview but it's a face to face interview at the end of the month but my assignment is due this week (I'm still going but it's for personal rather than for school).

I was hoping I could get some help from the film community here. All I need is answers to a few questions (don't need to answer them all if you don't want too) and if you wouldn't mind, the production company, your position (editor, manager,etc.) and your name (just first would be fine or you could PM me if you want to keep it confidential). You can be working in a 200 person company or a 2 man team. It doesn't matter as long as there is a possibility of getting hired with the group.

Or if I'm asking too much, maybe some tips on how to not get hung up on or turned down? Any help would be much appreciated. Thanks a lot!

Questions for an assistant editor (doesn't need to specifically be an assistant editor. Could also be editor or someone who works close to the editor or helps with the equipment or video decks or something similar).