BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

**LA ONLY** Freelance Editor's Day Rate Help!

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Kaypatch
**LA ONLY** Freelance Editor's Day Rate Help!
on Jan 2, 2008 at 7:18:51 pm

Hi guys!

I'm an editor from Ohio that just moved to LA to work. Back in Ohio there are rarely any freelancers out there, and I worked with a production company for 4 years and never had to worry about my rate. Here it seems very difficult to look for work cause a lot of people ask for a day rate(or hr rate). So what is an average day rate for an Editor (Jr.) out here? I'm not sure how you figure that out. I don't want to shoot out a number too low to sell myself out (Ohio is cheap living), and I don't want to go too high to scare off the employer.

If you are an editor, can you please help me out! I would be really grateful.

Thanks!
-Matt-

Return to posts index

Emre Tufekci
Re: **LA ONLY** Freelance Editor's Day Rate Help!
on Jan 2, 2008 at 8:57:55 pm

I recently moved from LA to DC but my rates as a junior editor was $75 an hour and as an senior editor it varied from $160 to $200 an hour. Don

Return to posts index

Mickie Shaw
on Jan 3, 2008 at 6:13:32 pm

Hi,

When I was looking for work as an assist. editor, the highest I heard of for entry level or newbie to LA with no LA credits was $25.00 hr. There is A LOT of competition for jobs. The shifts are often graveyard, and you may never move up into a full editor position at some shops. I was surprised at how many shows, that had budgets, were offering $10.00 hr or would want the work for free because some college new grad. said they would do the job for credit only.

Good luck and hang in there.

Mickie Shaw
Editor and Videographer
DIgital Mogul Media
digitalmogulmedia.com

Return to posts index

Patrick Ortman
on Jan 4, 2008 at 9:04:10 pm