BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

Copyright fair use - using video excerpt on portfolio website

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Alexander Signer
Copyright fair use - using video excerpt on portfolio website
on Nov 14, 2007 at 8:28:39 pm

Have created a video for a client, full copyright transferred to client, as always. No specific copyright agreement signed though. I added a 20-second excerpt of the clip (total length 4 minutes) on my company's website as part of our design portfolio.

Now the client has asked me to remove the clip as it infringes copyrights. Don't I have the right to showcase my work as part of the 'fair use' copyright policy?

Thanks for any hints (or links)!

Return to posts index

David Roth Weiss
Re: Copyright fair use - using video excerpt on portfolio website
on Nov 14, 2007 at 11:31:26 pm

Sorry Alexander, I'm not a lawyer, but I'm pretty sure that doesn't actually qualify under the "fair use doctrine." And unfortunately, as many have discussed here in the past, once you're warned, you're culpability and liability go way up. Meaning, that if they did ever decide to file suit against you, they could ask for punitive damages, because they could prove that you were warned but went ahead and displayed the work anyway.

I think your best bet would be to try talking to them again and ask for their permission.

David

David Roth Weiss
Director/Editor
David Weiss Productions, Inc.
Los Angeles

POST-PRODUCTION WITHOUT THE USUAL INSANITY™

A forum host of Creative COW's Business & Marketing, and Indie Film & Documentary forums.

Return to posts index

Todd at Fantastic Plastic
on Nov 14, 2007 at 11:58:49 pm

[David Roth Weiss] "I think your best bet would be to try talking to them again and ask for their permission"

I think that's the best advice.