BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles Business and Marketing Podcasts

Copy Right and Clearance

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
michael_kroesenxCopy Right and Clearance
by on Nov 1, 2007 at 1:46:39 am

In my previous life as an agency producer I was fairly up to speed on libel and slander issues. I also felt pretty clear on the issues surrounding privacy and publicity. Also with a national network spot budget I would get releases for everything and if needed throw money at people to get them to sign the releases. On my current project with a budget of $700 bucks, yep $700, I'm faced with some issues that I could use some input on.

I'm doing a profile on a community. The community is Kirkland Washington. What is ok and what is not ok to use. For example if I the voice over mentions the great parks may I shoot the park?

If the VO mentions great restaurants, shopping, and nightlife may I shoot wide views of restaurants, shopping areas, and general nightlife images? I would shoot from a public street and I would never imply that any of the locations and/or businesses endorse the group encouraging people to move to the area.

How about water front homes or a particular housing community? May I shoot the sign to the community if I do it from a publican street and make sure we don't imply that the community endorses the video?

How about when the VO mentions the top employers? May I shoot a shot of the Microsoft sign or a shot of the campus from the street?

What are my options? What are the issues?

Mike Kroesen

Return to posts index

beenyweeniesRe: Copy Right and Clearance
by on Nov 1, 2007 at 9:07:21 pm

Copyright law is generally meant to prevent IP theft, and to prevent one entity from stealing another's business by "tricking" consumers into thinking they are buying a different product, using trade names to imply endorsements etc..