BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

Ok so what I am I doing wrong in my career search...I realize this is not the correct forum but I had to try

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Todd GeorgeOk so what I am I doing wrong in my career search...I realize this is not the correct forum but I had to try
by on Oct 1, 2007 at 1:13:40 pm

Hello All

I have over 5 years of corporate production/post production experience as well as a brief stint with a small cable news channel under my belt, I have a Masters in communication arts and have taught video production at area community colleges

I know my way around final cut, and the other apps in the studio suite as well as combustion Lightwave , AE, and photoshop

I realize I may have committed career sucide by moving to north east ohio (long story) but this is a bit silly

to date I have been told that I am "overqualified" for two positions that I have recently applied for, and others have expressed interest but there has been no follow through

I enjoy working in post a bit more than being on set but I can and have doen both
I want a career position within an organization where my skills are seen as asset and where I will have the ability and the resources (which includes someone who is interested and able to passon what they know) to grow

I will work anywhere as long as the organization has a solid history and foundation

here is a link to my reel

http://video.jcu.edu:90/ims/tgdemo_907.mp4

if I do not have what it takes I would really appreaciate hearing that (and in fact need to hear that) as I am at a point in life where if I need to pursue a different career path now is a reasonably good time to do so

any insight would help
am I looking in the worng place (geographically, etc)
does my reel give the impression that my skill set is weak
is my reel suggesting that I have no specific skill at all