BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

How much investment do i need to get started ?

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
caneHow much investment do i need to get started ?
by on Sep 18, 2007 at 3:39:30 pm

Hi,

I've been a freelance FCP editor for the last 4 years - most of my projects are corporate & mostly end up for web or dvd.
I'm planning to join up with another editor & build 2 edit suites for commercial hire as well as produce corporate films.

This maybe a vague 'Q' but I have an investor interested, who is willing to invest & help me get started. I just have to give him a rundown on costs & what I will need in terms of investment.
Obviously I don't want to waste any money here but I also want to compete & offer professional services. I'm based in the UK & I was thinking of getting a server by EDITSHARE or XSAN & 2 FCS edit systems. This seems to be running in at just under £60k ( $119K )
That seems alot but I didn't realize how much the server would cost along with monthly rent etc.

Anyway my point is , if you wanted to progress from a pro freelancer to having your own facility for commercial hire , how much investment would you realistically need for 2 offline edit suites to get started ?

Cheers!

Return to posts index

walter biscardiRe: How much investment do i need to get started ?
by on Sep 19, 2007 at 12:47:18 am

You might want to read the first two parts of my Starting Your Own Business series in my Blog. Part 3 should be up this weekend.

1 - I've never used an investor and never will. I answer to myself and nobody else.

2 - I've had a very VERY bad experience with a partner and will never do that again.

I ask a LOT of questions in my articles and while I don't know exactly how much money it will take for you to start up your business, after reading through my questions, you should be able to start tallying up a number on your own.