BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles Business and Marketing Podcasts

Ethics and Money Question...

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Kenzo_UVWEthics and Money Question...
by on Sep 13, 2007 at 8:39:17 pm

I'm a freelance editor working out of my home with my own equipment. Recently due to sickness I had to stop working for almost a year.

As you can imagine I lost all my clients (actually I referred them to acquaintances that could get the job done).

Six months ago, as I tried to get back on my feet (literally) a friend from college aproached me and ofered to give me work. He assigned me the weekly edition of TV ads that needed to be changed on a weekly basis, offering me a fixed fee for each ad I edited/modified every week. He acted as the intermediary between the final client and me.

As the weeks passed my duties started to grow, not only did I edit, but also started to update and design new graphics, label the tapes (with my friend's company logo), making several DVD dubs of each ad and managing the traffic instructions for different networks/feeds.

I asked my friend for a raise, he told me that the client had asked for a reduction in price and faster turnaround times, that he was making a huge effort to give me support and that his profit margin was almost zero. This being Latin America and facing lots of competition I kept going on for the same fee.

Well, to make the story short; today in the morning I was contacted by the final client: an acquaintance from my old days at public broadcasting referred them to me, they are trying to cut the cost of their ads and wanted me to submit a bid, they gave me the information on how much they were being charged by their current supplier (that's my friend). As far as I know they don't know that I'm working for their current provider.