BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles Business and Marketing Podcasts

new to biz

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
aefarrisnew to biz
by on Aug 30, 2007 at 4:49:51 pm

Hello everyone, need some good advice.

I'm fairly new to the entertainment biz - about a year. I interned under successful production company as an editor. I was able to work on many projects including Americas Most Wanted, HGTV, numerous DR spots and so on. Now that I'm done with that I'm freelancing and a local CBS news affiliate and trying to build my own freelance post company. Is there anyone out there that can offer me some good advice in how to prospect new clinets and work being so "fresh" in the biz? I've advertised in almost every way I know, exhausted all my contacts and resources they dont seem to be doing anything either. I have a solid demo and resume. Besides 5+ years experience that everyone seems to want, what could I be lacking? I have a passion for editing and continue everyday to try different solutions to finding work. I've been on my own now for about 3 months, I don't expect to much being new but it seems like nothing is happening. Maybe being in this part of Florida is a dead spot, anyway any advice is greatly appreciated.

Return to posts index

Bob ZelinRe: new to biz
by on Aug 30, 2007 at 10:56:37 pm

the answer to freelancing is simple. Solicit yourself, and keep doing it. The most successful companies all have one thing in common - they keep selling themselves, over and over and over and over. Selling yourself is the definition of business. If you have one big client, this is called a JOB.
You must contact EVERYONE, and constantly remind people that you exist, and are available for editing. I used to send out postcards in NY a long time ago. You get about 1 response out of 100 post cards. Too much work, you say ? Then get a job, and forget freelancing.