BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles Business and Marketing Podcasts

Production Services Markup/Profit Margins

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Michael MillsProduction Services Markup/Profit Margins
by on Aug 7, 2007 at 1:38:36 pm

I've been producing video for several years, but until recently have not realized that maybe our pricing structure/markup is not correct. We're all in business to make money, aside from enjoying our profession. It's important for companies to markup services and have adequate profit margins to grow the business.

We usually have a contingency in place. Contingencies are for the unexpected, after all the planning is done, because things happen. Are there any standards or ideas of services markups? Example, we hire a DP. He charges X. It wouldn't be smart business to just pass this to the client. How much should it be marked up? We bill for the DP X+??. I understand regions or areas differ. We're in the NYC area.

Any thoughts ideas would be appreciated.

Return to posts index

Mark SuszkoRe: Production Services Markup/Profit Margins
by on Aug 7, 2007 at 3:08:14 pm

I would ask myself: if the client ever found out how much the markup was, would you be terribly embarrassed at the amount and could you instantly justify it? A markup is expected: you are at least charging for your time and trouble to make the arrangements and locate and pre-screen the guy working for you on the project, and all that costs *something*. Same reason your breakfast cereal box costs more at the 7-11 at 3in the morning, than it does at your regular discount grocery you visit once a month.

Return to posts index

Bruce Bennett in Madison, WIRe: Production Services Markup/Profit Margins
by on Aug 7, 2007 at 3:59:04 pm

I recently posted a similar question in this same forum. After 14 years of

Return to posts index