BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

flat rate

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Roman55
flat rate
on Jun 26, 2007 at 2:18:25 am

Hi ,
I am new to motion graphic business. Used to work more with interactive and web stuff.
I need you advise here.
My client asked me give him a flat rate for 15 sec Motion Graphic Spot. Something like bumper or intro.
What should I charge him for that kind of things? I understand that all depends on complexity of content. I need just rough figures.
Minimum and maximum. Some numbers to start with.
Thanks a lot!

Roman

=Roman=

Return to posts index

David Roth Weiss
Re: flat rate
on Jun 26, 2007 at 3:15:16 am

Roman,

The question one is really asking when they request a flat rate on an open-ended creative job is, "what's your soul worth, cuz I'd like to pick it up for a bargain." However, since you are new to the business and your soul isn't worth quite as much now as it will be later in your career, charge them $1000.00 this time, but let them know that $125.00 per hour is your rate on all future jobs.

David

"No job is worth doing more than once..."

David Roth Weiss
Director/Editor/Post-production Supervisor
David Weiss Productions, Inc.
Los Angeles

Return to posts index

The Matt Hall
on Jun 26, 2007 at 1:53:42 pm

In my experience, flat rates are worth it for jobs that you think you can produce quickly, and wouldn't get paid to much for on an hourly basis. And also for jobs that have a DEFINITE completion date.

I'd suggest work with the client to create a timeframe for producing the piece (a day, a week, whatever), set a flat rate for that time, and then say that anything over that time will be billed hourly, on a rate you agree on before hand.