BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles Business and Marketing Podcasts

No Idea Where to Start.

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
FIA2444No Idea Where to Start.
by on Mar 12, 2007 at 11:38:29 pm

I have been working as an assistant editor for the past 3 years and I am ready to make the move to a freelance editor. My problem is I have no idea about the business aspect of freelancing. I have created a company and my reel but I really don't no where to go from there. Could someone please help?

Return to posts index

walter biscardiRe: No Idea Where to Start.
by on Mar 13, 2007 at 12:16:00 am

Have you established any contacts with potential clients? People who have used your services in the past? Starting out as a freelancer is definitely much tougher if you have not established yourself with a few clients or at least have a particular job to start on.

Definitely join any local groups and organizations like an Avid Users / Final Cut Pro Users group, local media groups, etc....

Walter Biscardi, Jr.
HD Editorial & Animation for Food Network's "Good Eats"
HD Editorial for "Assignment Earth"

"I reject your reality and substitute my own!" - Adam Savage, Mythbusters

Return to posts index

Steve WargoRe: No Idea Where to Start.
by on Mar 13, 2007 at 4:21:14 am