BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

legality of using images from Google searches in productions

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Ruby Goldlegality of using images from Google searches in productions
by on Feb 7, 2007 at 7:33:58 pm

I'm a small time video producer and I've been using images found on Google searches in my video productions for some time and have always been paranoid about the legality of what I'm doing.

My productions are 'educational documentaries' and are used by various groups to help educate specific audiences about specific issues. For example, I made a series for ex-offenders designed to support their successful re-entry into the community and focused on employment, recovery and other issues. These are used in classes in jail and in post-release programs. I've also made educational documentaries for teachers/school staff about the issues involved in working with a student with a specific disability.

I've used images downloaded from Google as visual illustration of the content from the VO running underneath them. They are mostly of people interacting in the world. Needless to say, I'm sure some of the anonymous folks in these images wd not be pleased to know how their likenesses were being used. When I could find a contact, I've asked for permission, but obtaining permission from 95% of these "regular" folks is impossible.

I've thought about using stock, but, in addition to being prohibitively expensive, stock images look like stock images--they don't look like real people, and wd not be right for my productions.

Where I can, I shoot my own stuff in public domain space, because I know that can be used legally any way you want--correct? But when I need an image that will work with some specific content, I still have a need for a plethora of imagery of people to pick through.