BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles Business and Marketing Podcasts

How to approach a new client for an old dog

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
royHow to approach a new client for an old dog
by on Jan 30, 2007 at 2:05:34 am

Hi All:
I am a long time editor (22 years), and I have recently started a new production company. I recently saw an article in the business section about a food service company looking for new ways to market their services. The article mentions the principles and their web site. What is the appropriate way to contact this company to present some ideas? It sounds so simple, but for an artistic guy that needs to learn how to sell. It does not come so easy. Any thoughts from the gallery?
Thanks for your input.

Return to posts index

John Davidson (fomerly JNeo25)Re: How to approach a new client for an old dog
by on Jan 30, 2007 at 2:39:45 am

First, draw up a proposal (a plain word doc with your company name or logo at the top) detailing your ideas and how they fit in with the company. Be specific, but not wordy. 1-2 pages tops is what you want. It doesn't have to be gorgeous, this is essentially where you put your FIRST ideas to paper and brainstorm.
Bullet points rock here, as you may need this proposal handy for a cold call and you don't want to stammer or seem insecure (even though we all are).

Based on the size of the company you're pitching to, you may want to go to the head honcho, or perhaps the marketing director, or PR director. See if you know anyone in that field who has worked with the potential client before. Mutual contacts will get you halfway there.