BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

Standard video licensing rates/fees.

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
MidwestMonstersStandard video licensing rates/fees.
by on Jan 12, 2007 at 6:11:40 am

Hello all,

newbie here with a question I'd like some insight on.

Recently, some footage I own found its way into Coca-Cola/PowerADE promotional web site video clip for one of their contests. After two months of hassle, I was finally contacted by the production company responsible for making the video. They admitted fault, yet have not come up with concrete evidence or a reason as to how/why my footage got in their video.

Regardless, they have agreed to pay me a licensing fee. My question is, what should I ask for? This has never happened to me in terms of a video, it has happened with photos before.

I feel I'm definitely entitled to some cash considering they flat out violated copyright and used footage without my permission in a national ad campaign.

Any input would be excellent.

Thank you

Return to posts index

JBaumchenRe: Standard video licensing rates/fees.
by on Jan 12, 2007 at 3:25:07 pm

How much do you want?

Since they infringed on your copyright, you are somewhat in a position to name your price.

I would factor in what my standard rate would have been to create it had I been hired by the end user, then triple it as a punitive measure for the infringement.

Just my $.02

"be seen, be heard, be remembered"

Return to posts index

MidwestMonstersRe: Standard video licensing rates/fees.
by on Jan 12, 2007 at 5:25:07 pm

What I want? Still unsure. I have sold licensing rights for a photo for a mere $125 simply because my customers are race teams on a tight budget.