BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

Who needs to provide liability insurance for a shoot?

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
liv2snorideWho needs to provide liability insurance for a shoot?
by on Dec 7, 2006 at 10:58:57 pm

I am an independant producer/shooter/editor. I produce many of my projects but I also freelance as an operator for other projects. This particular job the producer wants me to offer up my 1 mill liability policy to cover any accidents that may be caused by my actions on set- he will cover any other accidents.

My position is that as the producer and director of a shoot it is his responcibility. Any thoughts?

JP

Return to posts index

Bruce Bennett in Madison, WIRe: Who needs to provide liability insurance for a shoot?
by on Dec 8, 2006 at 1:59:44 pm

JP,

I have a few clients that require $1 million general liability policies in order to do business with them. No policy = no business. Period.

Yes, it does seem to make sense that your client (the Producer) should have his own policy to cover you and all his other subs. But from my

Return to posts index

liv2snorideRe: Who needs to provide liability insurance for a shoot?
by on Dec 8, 2006 at 4:15:06 pm

I understand the client requiring liability but this is the first time I've had a producer require my policy. I am insured already so thats noit an issue. What concerns me is that if something happens on set it will be come a game of finger pointing with lawyers. I supose thats were ins lawyers get paid and why i pay them.

Thanks for the feed back Bruce. I feel beter knowing other producers require crew to come to set with liability.

JP

Return to posts index

Andy StintonRe: Who needs to provide liability insurance for a shoot?
by on Dec 8, 2006 at 8:25:23 pm

I think it

Return to posts index

tony salgadoRe: Who needs to provide liability insurance for a shoot?