BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

Finding money for Show Production

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Sir HamiltonFinding money for Show Production
by on Nov 13, 2006 at 11:22:43 am

Hi, Im a Video Producer, editor, and After Effects Super-star. I have been conceptualizing and writing a Show, one that would encorporate an amazing amount of awsomeness. I already have the crew and cast lined up for it. All that is between me and acctual production is time and Money, I want to start curving my efforts around funding it and so I want to know exactly what format of presentation I should aim it toward to impress investors, grant associations, and money givers. My questions to you guys, the experienced proffesionals is this:

1. What do I need prepared for perfect proffesional presentation?
2. Who do I pitch it to?
3. Where does money come from in this industry?
4. What are good resources on- grants, TV production, and Production tips?
4. If I bury a hundred dollar bill in the ground, care for it, and water it everyday, will my money grow?

thank you for anything you can help me with, and thank you for your time.

Hal S

Return to posts index

Bruce Bennett in Madison, WIRe: Finding money for Show Production
by on Nov 13, 2006 at 3:40:50 pm

Sir Hamilton,

I personally have not done any TV pilots or shows, but a couple of my colleagues have. From what I've learned, the number one component that determines success is "Distribution."
You can have the best idea for the best show on the face of the earth, but if you don't have distribution lined up, then it makes it very hard to convince potential investors to spend their money with you.

One company that takes programming to Cable TV is "CABLEready." Their Website is http://www.cableready.net. I hear that most such type companies require high-end production values and formats (like digiBeta and HDCAM).