BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles Business and Marketing Podcasts

Where can I find info to help build videography Business Plan?

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Reg(inald)Where can I find info to help build videography Business Plan?
by on Oct 10, 2006 at 6:30:27 pm

After running an event video business (grads, dance recitals, weddings, etc)as a "paying hobby" for five years, being downsized out of my real job has got me planning to go full time with the video thing. I've had some corporate video experience (talking heads presentations, community involvement promotion, etc)and plan to include these (among others)in my list of service offerings.
Some outplacement consultants are helping me put my business plan together. They're stressing the importance of defining the size of the industry and the market niche that I'm aiming for - the information will help me assess the viability of my business and likelihood of success (etc.).
This makes sense to me.
I cannot locate any statistics on the event videography "industry". I can't think of any forums or central points where useful information might lurk.

So my QUESTION(s) is/are:
How have other people tackled a business plan for event and/or corporate videography? Where did you go for your "industry size" and "market niche size" info? How did you assess the market and your place in it?
(I'm located in Southern Alberta, Canada, but am happy to receive advice that relates to anywhere... anywhere at all!)

Return to posts index

JbaumchenRe: Where can I find info to help build videography Business Plan?
by on Oct 11, 2006 at 2:40:00 am

Check to see if Calgary has a small business center like this one: