BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles Business and Marketing Podcasts

How to break down this job

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Marco SalsicciaHow to break down this job
by on Oct 6, 2006 at 9:35:45 pm

Hi everyone,

I'm quite new to the freelancing community, and I need some advice on how to put together a proper bid on a project that's been offered to me.

This job is from my former school. They want me to take the demo reels of a little over 50 students and create a looping widescreen DVD for a portfolio show, plus make an additional DVD with interactive menus that prospective employers can peruse at their disposal. I'll have to inspect each reel to make sure they fall within the proper codec and format size that I've specified, and offer assistance/possible tutoring if necessary.

The running budget for this is $800, and it's basically going to be a three day project given their deadline schedule.

Can anyone grant me some industry experience relating to putting together a proper hourly-rate bid for a contract like this? Or any terminology/syntax I should be aware of when documenting out my entire workflow process?

Marco Salsiccia
Engineer of Insurrection
Digital Anarchy

Return to posts index

Steve WargoRe: How to break down this job
by on Oct 8, 2006 at 10:22:48 am

Give them a package price. Avoid hourly pricing if possible. Quite frankly, this sounds like a weeklong $2500 job to me. Unless you're still a student of sorts. More details please.

Steve Wargo
Tempe, Arizona

It's a dry heat!

Return to posts index

btveditorRe: How to break down this job
by on Oct 9, 2006 at 2:22:05 pm

Good day Marco,

I agree with Steve, give them the package price. To many times an hourly rate scares clients and even more so if it is broken down to everything you do.