BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

Is this common?

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Andrew W.Is this common?
by on Oct 2, 2006 at 11:11:46 am

I'm new to the independant contractor thing. I've worked as a Post Super, and I know how to be professional, but I'm much more experienced in being the client instead of finding them.

A few months ago, I got a job doing some animations. It was my first time working for this company, and it went well. Everything happened on time, they liked the product, happiness all around.

A month or so later, I get a call from the editor (I'd never spoken with him before, I only dealt with the producer). He says he loved my work, and he's trying to learn After Effects, and how did I do that effect? He'd throw me a little cash (and I mean "a little") if I broke it down.

I'm usually a believer in sharing information, but this weirded me out, not the least bit because he was calling from the company phone line. I told him I wasn't really comfortable doing that, it seemed it bit like giving away trade secrets. However, I suspect he has gone on to figure out how to do it (it wasn't rocket science) and that I'll never hear from them again...maybe I would have been better off having him owe me a favor and getting a little cash.

Thoughts?

Return to posts index

Tim KolbRe: Is this common?
by on Oct 2, 2006 at 2:13:06 pm

I've found that being stingy with knowledge usually has no long-term upside.

I've found over the years that training people a bit...like the scenario you mentioned...tend to send a message to them that you are knowledgeable and they'll tend to keep coming back for sophisticated projects. You may lose some of the simpler ones, but in this case it sounds like you may have lost the client.