BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

I need advice on establishing VFX/Compositing rates

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
GrillmasterI need advice on establishing VFX/Compositing rates
by on Aug 11, 2006 at 4:50:15 pm

I'm a full time Editor/VFX/Compositor... basicly I handle all post production for commercials at a local news station. I've been freelancing in the evenings from home and am working on building that into my future full-time job (less commuting). I recently established myself as an LLC and am picking up a few new clients. Most of my past work was for people I already had a relationship with and I did the work at a VERY reasonable rate. Now that these people are refering me to new clients, I need a real rate structure
I will be doing 2D and 3D compositing as well as 2D animation/motion graphics. I currently use Photoshop, After Effects and Illustrator and will be buying Shake in the near future.
How shold I charge? Day Rate, Per Job, Hourly or by the work (i.e. Compositing 2D is $??? per hour, and do you charge for render time?)
I know there are a lot of other variables that go into this equasion but any advice would be great! To complicate matters more, how much (roughly) are these skills/services worth?

Thanks, Chris

Return to posts index

Mark SuszkoRe: I need advice on establishing VFX/Compositing rates
by on Aug 11, 2006 at 8:15:03 pm

If you charge a flat rate I can guarantee you this: you will be too high or too low. Neither is good business. I would go hourly, perhaps with a minimum base rate under that. A lower hourly for render time is up to you, but I would say this about that: can you use the machine for any other work while it is tied up rendering their job? No? Then there's opportunity cost to consider, so I would choose not to discount the "render time rate" much if at all.