BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles Business and Marketing Podcasts

What should I charge?

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Mister CatWhat should I charge?
by on Jun 23, 2006 at 1:48:48 am

I'm new to the freelance world of video so could use some advice. I've been asked by a band to edit some existing footage, shot by them so no infringement issues, into a new DVD demo of the band. It's about 45 minutes of them live and they first want simple bookmarks for each song for random access. Second, a 7-10 minute mash up of the footage to be used as a promo/booking tool. Finally, I'll be designing a new motion graphics menu for the DVD using some of the footage along with the graphics off the CD cover. These guys are doing pretty well on the Christian pop circuit but aren't big names...yet. Any input on what this type of job should pay is welcome.

Return to posts index

duffbeer911Re: What should I charge?
by on Jun 23, 2006 at 2:02:52 am

if you do a search in here and in the business forum you will find lots of posts on "charging" "rates" "billing" etc etc

but I'm sure everyones response will be work out an hourly rate and then multiply by the hours.....don't forget to include in your rate depreciation of software and hardware.... so you might charge $100/hour and spend 20 hours on it..... you might charge $250/hour and spend 3 months on might do it for free......

Return to posts index

Mister CatRe: What should I charge?
by on Jun 23, 2006 at 4:59:33 am

if you do a search in here and in the business forum you will find lots of posts on "charging" "rates" "billing" etc etc