BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

How do you establish a resonable ratecard? Industry standards?

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Brian MillsHow do you establish a resonable ratecard? Industry standards?
by on Apr 16, 2006 at 10:16:29 pm

I am a freelance DV cameraman/FCP editor in Las Vegas. In talking with collegues, I find that I am charging way less than some guys, and more than others (at $50/hr for me + gear). And then there is Craigslist, which is always asking us to give our time/gear/experience away for nothing and cheapens the entire profession. But how do you establish fair rates? Is there an industry standard or I imagine it varies by market? Do I have to call every guy in town and see what they're charging to see where I should be?

I think truly experienced and professional cameramen should stick together in maintaining a decent standard rate, but there are always the guys in college who just bought a DVX and will work for $10 - 15/hr.

Any insight would be appreciated.

Return to posts index

Craig SeemanRe: How do you establish a resonable ratecard? Industry standards?
by on Apr 17, 2006 at 1:52:30 pm

The sad thing about craigslist low ball prices is that businesses (and yes there are businesses not just indy films . . . and some businesses posing as indy filmmakers) are getting people to work for next to free and some of those people are talented. That's foder for another thread though.

The "standard" rate is what you need to survive and grow with your business model.

Gather your total monthly expenses