BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles Business and Marketing Podcasts

School or No School?

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Aanarav SareenSchool or No School?
by on Mar 14, 2006 at 9:06:42 am

This question has been in my head for a while, so I thought, why not ask the people that know most about the business.

Anyway, I am a student with a major in finance from a well respected school in the finance field. However, my background is 100% in television or production. I have really, never done anything to do with finance or anything of that sort. I have designed business plans, but they were for production companies or for specific productions. Now, my question is: do employers look at where you graduated from? The reason I ask is: I sent my resume to the big 4 networks and the response couldn't be better. I applied for a business related jobs, they came back and offered my a motion design/post-production job. Obviously, they are not looking at what I am doing in school. So, is school really a waste of time and money, when it all comes down to making $$?

Return to posts index

Mark SuszkoRe: School or No School?
by on Mar 14, 2006 at 3:45:24 pm