BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles Business and Marketing Podcasts

Freelancer moving into my own small business

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Jonathan AlexanderFreelancer moving into my own small business
by on Feb 1, 2006 at 6:28:29 pm

I am a freelance motion graphics artist, but recently have had the opportunity to take on a corporate video and produce it all myself. I have been advised to start a business checking account. Now, when I say that I am a freelance graphic artist, I mean that I don't know much about small business and what steps I should take to make sure that I do this video right under my small business and do my best to make the most out of it and pay the least in taxes on it. Does anyone have simple guidlines or steps in the right direction as far as how I go about making myself more of a small business? Thanks for any advice, it will be greatly appreciated as I don't have much of an idea at the moment.

Return to posts index

Nick GriffinRe: Freelancer moving into my own small business
by on Feb 2, 2006 at 3:38:34 pm

Jonathan -

Congratulations on thinking that getting advice is a good idea.

First, get an accountant to help you set things up. If you're in the US this isn't the best time of year to find one, but it will only get worse as April 15th (this year 17th) approaches. Do you have any friends or family members with a small business? Ask them who they use and why.

Maybe you need to incorporate or form an LLC - limited liability corporation. Maybe not. The accountant will know.