BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles Business and Marketing Podcasts

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Gabriel RegalbutoEthics
by on Dec 1, 2005 at 5:52:04 am

I am a freelance editor. Often I am asked by my clients' clients if I will work directly with them. Sometimes while I'm on the clock, sometimes when I haven't worked with them for some time.

When, if ever, is it appropriate to accept?

Return to posts index

Shane RossRe: Ethics
by on Dec 1, 2005 at 6:39:04 am

Good one...

Unless you want to burn the bridge of the client who you are working thru, I wouldn't do it. Going behind someone's back is...well...not good business. If you want to remain in business with that client.

Return to posts index

Patrick SheffieldRe: Ethics
by on Dec 1, 2005 at 7:02:03 am

I often faced that problem.

My solution was this: If I only knew them thru the place I was working for, I wouldn't work for them directly or outside the place I was working for (at least for a year).

If there was some other connection with the client, even if the place I was working at brought us together on a project, I would accept jobs from that client directly or at another venue.

I did not hide this from the folks I was working for. In some cases I put it in writing. Honest and above board was the best way I found to deal with these situations...

Return to posts index

Mark SuszkoRe: Ethics
by on Dec 1, 2005 at 4:09:31 pm

I think these are well-considered answers. I would ony add that I think it's bad form to even discuss the option until the current project is done and you are off the premises.

Return to posts index

GregRe: Ethics additional
by on Dec 1, 2005 at 4:19:14 pm