BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

Music Rights and internal communication

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Austin Bowie
Music Rights and internal communication
on Nov 11, 2005 at 6:19:25 pm

Working with client in design industry that wants to create inspirational DVD to hand out to employees at new year. They have provided a list of music they would like to see used.

Two sets of 300 (different product for different groups) will be distributed. Again strictly internally, not for marketing, sales, pitches etc

Return to posts index

Greg
Re: Music Rights and internal communication
by
on Nov 11, 2005 at 9:11:17 pm

Copyright is copyright...if you do not have the rights to music you legally can't use it. Not to mention that you're handing out these DVd's to 300 people. I'm no lawyer, but it really doesn't matter the end use with a corporation. Some folks justify using copyrighted music in various ways. "It's only internal"..."Not for sale", "Nobody will find out"

Ask the design company if you can send out their best designs to the general public for them to use any way they want. How would they feel? I wouldn't risk my business over this.

Greg

Return to posts index

Austin Bowie
on Nov 11, 2005 at 10:36:36 pm

That was my sentiment. Much money is being dangled so I figured I would go for a second opinion.

Return to posts index

debe
by
on Nov 12, 2005 at 10:12:45 pm

All it takes is one of employee who receives this DVD to be married to a lawyer, and it's all over!

Not worth the risk!

debe

Return to posts index

ian karr
on Nov 13, 2005 at 4:16:20 am

Austin,

I wholeheartedly agree with everyone else...

BUT...

There is another way to keep the job and lower your risk...have the client sign a document stating that THEY have secured the rights for the music they want to use. Your lawyer can probably draft up something quick...