BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

cross post: - estimate for a corp video

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
duffbeer911
cross post: - estimate for a corp video
on Aug 19, 2005 at 5:13:09 am

Hi guys,
I stuck this in the corporate video thread also. You can delete one of the posts if this not allowed.

Anyways, I'm mainly an After Effects designer making 30sec spots, but have been requested to quote for a corporate video. I have no idea where to start with pricing. All I know so far is they had a camera op for 5 days. Probably very basic miniDV without lighting or anything.

If they want a 10minute simple cut with no effects, just a few titles...what sort of figures are we looking at? like AU$1000...AU$5000???....AU$10,000. I have no idea.

I know the usual response....hours worked x hourly rate = ??? but I would like to know a ballpark figure that others would charge.

Any advice would be great....like how much have you charged in the past?

Thanks heaps.

Return to posts index

Charlie King
Re: cross post: - estimate for a corp video
on Aug 19, 2005 at 3:07:31 pm

Not enough information.
How long is the video. What is involved with audio, is it a narrative track? Sound bites? Is there a script already written you can look over? Was video shot to the script, or was it run and gun shooting? How many dubs will be needed at the end? What kind of music needed and is it licensed? What kind of graphics and are you responsible for creating them?

And that is just a sample of the questions needing answers, not all of them.

Charlie

Return to posts index

Tim Kolb
Re: cross post: - estimate for a corp video
on Aug 19, 2005 at 6:32:20 pm

[Charlie King] "Not enough information.