BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles Business and Marketing Podcasts

resume? say wha?

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
joeresume? say wha?
by on Aug 5, 2005 at 8:00:33 pm

I am looking to put together my first resume. I've never done this before and am intersted if anyone could point me to some sample resumes that I could look at and give me a feel for how to put together a video production type resume.

Return to posts index

jRe: resume? say wha?
by on Aug 6, 2005 at 11:53:55 am

There was a book called "resumes that knock em dead". It helped me out tremendously. Having said that, it really depends on what you are looking to do.If you are just looking to be a freelance editor, I would think your years of experience and different types of projects and clients you have worked for should be highlighted.

If you are looking to land a full time job with a video production company, then you will probably want to show your work history doesn't just include one or two skills(i.e. I edit in avid and FCP), but rather that you have a variety things to offer, both technical and professional. Most video companies are small and need people that are willing to jump in at various levels of the company to help it grow.

Finally if you haven't worked at any video-production companies before, you may want to focus your resume more on a summary of experience rather than your work history...just leave your sandwich shop job at the end of the resume under a heading called "non-related experience" or something like that, but still even at a fast food restaraunt if you think hard enough you can demonstrate basic problem solving skills that you performed.