BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

What job am I applying for?

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Michael KellamWhat job am I applying for?
by on Jul 15, 2005 at 7:03:48 pm

Hey, all. I am a video professional about to start another job search. I have worked in production for 15 years. I have a problem in that I

Return to posts index

Bob ColeRe: What job am I applying for?
by on Jul 20, 2005 at 10:15:17 pm

[Michael Kellam] "I work best when I do shooting, camera and editing as a significant component of the job."

Great post, Michael. The problem is that people who would "economize" by looking for someone who could do it all probably have a tiny budget for personnel, which means the other part of your quest (avoiding working alone) might be impossible. I'd look for a rapidly-growing company which could benefit from your multiplicity of skills, while offering the possibility of your managing a larger department in the future.

As to what to call yourself, any one title could be limiting. Maybe you don't have to call yourself anything at all -- just list what you have done and express an interest in "production."

Good luck.

-- BC

Return to posts index

Frank OttoRe: What job am I applying for?
by on Jul 20, 2005 at 10:38:05 pm

[Bob Cole] "Maybe you don't have to call yourself anything at all -- just list what you have done and express an interest in "production.""

Don't think of a resume for your work...look at it as a "timeline."