BUSINESS AND MARKETING: Business and Marketing Forum Business and Marketing Articles

Job Card or something?

COW Forums : Business & Marketing

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Dave Boampong
Job Card or something?
on Apr 27, 2005 at 9:41:09 am

I am a Director and Editor in Ghana, West Africa and find that most clients tend to want to get their work done without a downpayment. They promise to pay in full once the job is finished and they in turn can collect the money of their clients. As you can probably guess 90% of the time they disappear into thin air after they receive their tapes from me or other guys in the business.

I am looking to design a job card which contains all the details of the job I am doing with a client and an agreement to pay a 50% downpayment before the job commences and the rest once the job has been finished.

Are there industry standard templates for stuff like that?

Thanks
Dave

Return to posts index

Greg
Re: Job Card or something?
by
on Apr 27, 2005 at 2:07:17 pm

HI Dave-
One thing we try to do is just write up a contract with a payment schedule, and have them sign it. If we don't know the company, or have not worked with them before, we always ask for at least 50% up front. I want to make sure that any costs I'm incurring are covered. Then I don't give them their final tape until payment is received. This is indicated in the contract as well. It seems to work for me. Of course, as producers sometimes our clients pay us slowly. But that's not my crew's problem. Perhaps your clients need to arrange the same thing, they get 50% and pay you. They (your clients) may need to pay you final payment before you release your master.

Return to posts index

Dave Boampong
on Apr 28, 2005 at 5:23:50 pm

Thanks Greg

Return to posts index

Mark Suszko
on Apr 29, 2005 at 1:27:38 am