FORUMS: list search recent posts

5.1 Not Working

COW Forums : Adobe Audition

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Zack Hosseini5.1 Not Working
by on May 26, 2012 at 11:10:19 pm

Hello,

I'm somewhat new to Audition and I recently set up 5.1 surround sound in my basement. The surround sound system works with DVDs and playing videos with 5.1 SS audio from my Macbook Pro, so I know the system is set up properly.

However, when I make something in 5.1 in Audition and try to play it, the rear speakers don't work. When I try to play audio I panned to either of the rear speakers, nothing plays. But when I play videos I know have 5.1 audio (movies and such), the rear speakers work fine. So it must be something I'm doing wrong in Audition. Even when I export the mixdown, it doesn't work. All my tracks are panned to the according speakers and my master track is set to 5.1 output.

When I export, I use .aiff.

I'm using Adobe Audition CS5 with a mid 2010 Macbook Pro that is connected to my A/V receiver via a Toslink cable.

Any help would be appreciated!

Thank you,

---------------
Zack Hosseini
http://www.ZackHosseiniFilms.com
Zack@ZackHosseiniFilms.com

"When all else fails, look for presets!"

Return to posts index

Frank GothmannRe: 5.1 Not Working
by on May 30, 2012 at 10:57:34 am

This is not how mixing 5.1 works at all, in any application. A Toslink cable and a regular AV receiver won't do anything. It will pass a digital stereo signal to your receiver and that's it (or, in case of DVDs, an encoded DD/DTS surround stream but all that has nothing to do with mixing surround).
You need a proper multichannel audio interface such as a Fireface from RME or M-Audio. You then need a receiver that has discreet outputs for each channel or active speakers that hook up to the interface. Then each channel needs to be assigned to the proper interface output/speaker.

------