FORUMS: list search recent posts

Processing interview vocals, recommended steps, sequences and best practices

COW Forums : Adobe Audition

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>

jim bachalo
Processing interview vocals, recommended steps, sequences and best practices
on Feb 8, 2012 at 3:33:32 am

Hi
I'm a total audio novice when it comes to apply effects, restoring and mixing audio.
I have some vocals recorded with an inexpensive lav for a short film I am shooting.
I also used a stereo mic to record some room ambience.
I know I need to remove some of the noise floor, and apply some EQ as well as mix with the stereo ambience.
What are the recommended steps? Should noise reduction come first?
What about compression? If using compression, which plugin is best for spoken word vocals?

Should normalize ever be used?
Any feedback appreciated!

Local is the new global

Return to posts index

Angelo Lorenzo
Re: Processing interview vocals, recommended steps, sequences and best practices
on Feb 13, 2012 at 8:25:28 am

Probably best to pick up a book like http://www.amazon.com/Mixing-Audio-Second-Concepts-Practices/dp/0240522222/... because there is so much mixed information online.

http://audio.tutsplus.com/ isn't a bad resource either.

Generally, when looking at a dialog track, I do the following:
-- Look at the general structure. Is there a lot of noise or a little noise, are there steep peaks in volume or does the speaker use even diction and volume, and so on.

-- If the audio is really chewed up (audio is close to the noise floor) I'll normalize the peaks to zero so I have some working room for noise removal, compression and re-normalization.