FORUMS: list search recent posts

website design for selling/downloading short videos

COW Forums : Web Design

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Pattie Olsonwebsite design for selling/downloading short videos
by on Oct 22, 2012 at 11:13:09 pm

I am a videographer that sells 2 DVDs from my website. I looked at my analytics on my YT channel that has three of my videos displayed and over 70% of views are from mobile devices. I will soon be selling the individual music videos from each DVD from my website as a download using Payloads.

My question is: How do I re-build my website so it works properly on mobile devices?

I use a webdesign software called Xara and it is hosted by IPower.

Thanks in advance for any advice,

Return to posts index

Matt GeierRe: website design for selling/downloading short videos
by on Oct 23, 2012 at 4:07:17 pm

Hi Pattie,

To design for mobile, is much like designing for the web browser on your monitor in context.

You should designate a "mobile" site, and your current website serves as your "standard" site. (mobile = mobile devices, standard = everything on a regular monitor).

You'll notice nowadays, that a lot of places you go to on your smart phone or another device point you to "the mobile" version of that website or company you go to visit.

You'll need to have a design that matches widths of the screen real estate on the mobile devices (it's a lot less then what your monitor gives you), and also have a site that supports the mobile platform properly (for example you won't want super big downloads, because data will likely be transferred over a mobile network, and that's going to be slower then if you were connected to your Ethernet cable or Wireless Internet at home). Another example is that some mobile devices don't support flash and other "web standards" that were designed for non mobile viewing.

Those are the kinds of things to keep in mind. There's quite a few things to think about.