FORUMS: list search recent posts

Does google like .coms more than .nets

COW Forums : Web Design

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Jay FishbackDoes google like .coms more than .nets
by on Feb 17, 2012 at 10:44:56 pm

I dont think I need to explain to you how much of a newb I am. My title should exemplify that.

I am building a website for a friend, I have some experience with web design not a lot. I am using wordpress. Well I am doing a lot of SEO on his website, but google just doesn't want to read it. Even when i type in his web address into google, it still doesn't pop up. His website is a .net.... Could that have anything to do with it?

Return to posts index

Matt GeierRe: Does google like .coms more than .nets
by on Feb 17, 2012 at 11:29:44 pm

Hi Jay,

Google (as well as others) are very agnostic to the domain name - .com .net .org .us, etc....

Google in fact, is extremely keen to rank a site based on a lot of factors. Among them are, relevant content, regular and frequent content updates, external links, internal links, and more recently they are even ranking based on the Social Media engagement that websites are having. (Google +) is an example of this.

When did you start the project?
How long as the domain existed?
What SEO specifics are you doing for the overall ranking?

SEO work can take up to four weeks to become indexed on the web! And that's if you're doing it very often. (People should never stop optimizing....) If you only optimize every now and then, it will sometimes take longer because of the lack of "frequent updates"

Wordpress is a very nice SEO friendly CMS to use.
I rely on it for all of my own sites and I encourage it for the clients I work with as well!

What Wordpress Plugins are you using for SEO and Google?
Those will make a difference in effectiveness as well.

Are you utilizing the Google Webmaster tools in addition?